Onethousandfoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

It’s okay to say NO

It’s okay to say no to somebody

A friend at school asked me if I was helping out after-school with the Sixth Form open evening by talking about my choices. I told her that I’d been asked but I had turned down the offer because I have revision to do, honestly.

With that she frowned and admitted she wished she had done so too, for she also has exams, more than me in fact. I told her, it’s okay to say no.

Don’t let anyone rule you or your agenda

If you’ve been asked a favour that you know isn’t important, and you have more important things to do, say no. We’re so inclined to say yes because we feel we should be helpful and reliable – but not if it means you miss out.

It’s important to remember that at the end of the day this is your life, and you are the most important thing in your life. That’s not to say that you should run down the street yelling “I’m so important,” all of a sudden. Remain humble, prioritise your agenda, and only accept something if you know you can deal with having another day of the week booked up.

Just a thought,

Yours

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment